Styling On A Budget…A Budget Of $0.

Why, yes! “What Would Gwen Do” is back with a vengeance.  To those of you new to this fun game I play, lemme explain it quickly.  Gwen Stefani is my fashion inspiration for pretty much everything. She just does it for me every time she steps out. And it’s been this way since No Doubt hit the scene. I stopped styling a couple years ago but it doesn’t mean my love for fashion vanished. I wasn’t putting any effort into my look and asked “what would Gwen do?” And just like that, I could throw an outfit together.  B-A-N-A-N-A-S, I know.  I put a blog together, primarily focused on my favourite seasonal outfits Queen Gwen blessed us with while she walked the streets of the world, and figured out how to put my take on those outfits with stuff I already had in my closet. I kind of let that blog wither away when I let personal life-crud distract me.

WELL, HERE I GO AGAIN ON MY OOOOOOOWN. While Queen Gwen will be mixed in here and there, I’m just taking any street styles I dig, and JaBGin’ it up.  Here’s why:

  1. I’m poor.
  2. I can’t actually admit to how many clothes I own, but it’s insane and I don’t even know if I’m proud of it because…poor.
  3. In doing a million loads of laundry, I realized I can shop my own closet.
  4. I need several creative outlets to keep my depression at bay.
  5. I think I can break down outfits that seem confusing to people & help them see how to achieve the looks they want to. It’s so easy!

Without further adieu, here’s my first ‘go’ at this again.

BBB #1

The outfit on the left caught my eye. When you break this isht down and not get scurred by the Chanel bag and all that noise, this outfit is super easy to put together. You don’t need a milli dollars.  Torn jeans, cut at the ankle. A long, patterned coat. A collared shirt. A sweater. A bold lip. A coloured pump that has nothing to do with any other part of the outfit. This stuff speaks to a chick.  As my friends at What Not To Wear, said all the time, “It doesn’t need to match; it just needs to go.” And her entire outfit goes.

HOW I DID IT (I didn’t buy any of these items recently, just letting you know where I picked them up way-back-when. Because I remember every purchase I’ve ever made. Ever. I’m sure this skill will benefit me one day):

  • a sleeveless, pale blue chambray shirt (Winners)
  • a fun, printed knit sweater (Winners)
  • ripped boyfriend jeans (Black Market)
  • patent black pumps (Target)
  • blazer with faux leather collar details (Winners)
  • gold necklace (Sympathy For The Rebel)

Instead of a designer bag, I decided to keep the dirty, paint tray in the photo… It’s not mandatory to complete this LQQK.

And that’s it!  Easy, peezy. If you ever have any questions on how to put something together or where to find an item or you have an outfit challenge for me, email me any time at justanotherbg@gmail.com.  I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

